But, you are the pricing guy …

Someone: How do you think we should price this?
Me: I don’t know.

Someone: Don’t you think we should give it for free and sell services?
Me: I don’t know.

Someone: Should we give them a Standard and a Professional option?
Me: I don’t know.

Someone: Should we include this feature in our Standard edition or introduce a higher edition?
Me: I don’t know.

Someone: But you are the pricing guy, don’t you know what should be the price?

I don’t. I do not have a way to simply listen to your product pitch and come up with a price, let alone two prices. My pricing skills have not reached the level in which seeing a product makes the figure pop up in mind.
Except in extreme cases, like I did with Xoom, I do not know right away whether your prices are correct are wrong.

You will be disappointed. I do not know the pricing unless I get answers for 20 other questions. I need to collect data, run models, and even after that I still state my answers couched in uncertainties.

Anyone doing otherwise is either Steve Jobs or is leading you down the wrong path. We all know Steve Jobs is not with us any more.

I am the pricing guy and I am proud to tell you I don’t have easy answers for you.

What is the value of getting most likely correct information over getting easy answers?

How important is it for you to know how to go about defining the pricing and hence know how to change it as market conditions, competition, customer mix and technology change?