All the wrong questions

The title is Inspired by Lemony Snicket’s new series. He became my favorite after his simple explanation of correlation-causation confusion.

I believe we end up with wrong strategies, wrong products, wrong advice and eventually big failures because we ask all the wrong questions.

Stop asking wrong questions like:

  1. What would you like for your horse drawn carriage? A faster horse may be?
  2. What features would you like on our product?
  3. If we made this thingamajig would you buy it?
  4. Will you buy this product for $7.99?
  5. On a scale of 0 to 10 how likely are you recommend this product to your friends and family?
  6. Doesn’t my product deserve the price I am charging for it?
  7. What are the traits of successful people/businesses?
  8. What is our social media strategy?
  9. What can I learn from Gangnam style video’s success (or from movie Les Miserable)?
  10. How can I launch products like Apple does?
  11. What data will prove I am right?
  12. How many product editions should I offer?

    and finally

  13. So what are the right questions then?

Happy New Year!